Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

Way to Meditation
for Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano

The piece consists of two contrasting movements performed without break between them: expressive and dramatic first, and meditative and clarified second. Gradual transition from tension of dissonant intervals (fortissimo) to calm quartertone fluctuations (pianissimo) determines the main direction of development. There was used free atonal technique with some elements of serialism, as well as microchromatisism. Although sound colour often acquires independency among other parameters, permanent transformation of short motives and rhythmic units (microthematic elements) becomes the basis of the musical narration.

The piece was written on suggestion of an outstanding American pianist Yvar Mikhashoff for the concert at the Centre of Contemporary Music DJsbrecker in Amsterdam. The first performance took place there in February 1991.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2000 by Alexander Shchetynsky