Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

for recorders (4 performers), vibraphone and tam-tam

I Sopranino, Soprano, Alto, Tenore, Basso in f
II Soprano, Alto, Tenore, Basso in f
III Soprano, Alto, Tenore, Basso in f
IV Soprano, Alto, Tenore, Basso in f, Contrabasso in F, Tam-tam


The work consists of three movements: the first of lyric and meditative character, the second - light scherzo, the third with elements of dramatic tension. Compositional technique is based on free atonality with extensive using of quarter tones. The texture is filled with narrow interlacings of melodic lines that form heterophonic and polyphonic layers freely moved around. The ensemble of recorders is treated mostly as a united polyphonic instrument, while a vibraphone extends its timbral capacity. Only in the last movement sound becomes more differentiated due to introducing dynamic contrasts and dissociation of texture, as well as timbral variety (playing the vibraphone with hard mallets, utilization of rare sopranino and contrabass recorders).

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2000 by Alexander Shchetynsky