Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

for Piano and Concert Band

Concertino for piano and concert band is an alternative version of Chamber Concerto (2006). It consists of two movements (Moderato and Lento). They both are based on similar melodic and harmonic structures, and each of the movements presents a sequence of episodes of dramatic tension and relative stability and meditation. Due to this, the second movement in fact is a continuation of the first, and taken together, they form an integral composition. The principles of musical language of the piece are derived mostly from free atonality. Technically demanding piano part sometimes resembles the remains and flotsam of classical virtuoso pieces distorted with dissonant intervallic structures.

The piece may be perceived as a musical drama with tense dialogues of the "actors" and a certain sequence of "events", although there is no literary program here.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2010 by Alexander Shchetynsky