Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

Looking at the Sky
1st version for 2 flutes and piano
2nd version for flute, clarinet and piano
3rd version for flute, bass clarinet (or bassoon) and piano


Sound arises from silence... Aleatoric combination of separated tones, air noise, clicks of the keys and other "marginal" sounds... The utmost relieved texture, extremely delicate and soft... Three instruments play independently one from the other; each part consists of several sections performed in any order (new in every current performance). The piece has no climax, its structure resembles extended chord, the tones of which are articulated in different ways. Final tritone (pizzicato on the piano strings) introduces tones that were not utilized in the previous sections of the piece. Due to this, the whole work resembles the harmonic cadence - melancholic "hello" to the great archetype of classical music. The mood of the piece is deep static meditation.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2000 by Alexander Shchetynsky