Back to list of works

A. Griboyedov

2 Valses

Orchestral version by Alexander Shchetynsky (2012)

Two waltzes were composed by Alexander Griboyedov in 1820s as two single pieces for piano. In my orchestral version I have extended them with several chordal sequences and combined two pieces into two-movement composition. Chordal sequences provide tonal transitions and suggest new harmonic aspects, as well as make the whole composition formally more consistent. They also add to music some element of nostalgic reflection.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2012 by Alexander Shchetynsky