Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

Four Inventions
for button accordion (bayan)

Four pieces shape an introspective cycle where quiet sounds and meditation predominate. Each invention contains certain constructive idea:
1. Transformation of the horizontal line (melody) to vertical structures (harmony).
2. Fugue with various polyphonic methods of elaboration.
3. Quasi responsorium: opposition of melody and sequence of chords. This movement is the most dramatic in the cycle.
4. Invention on one chord. All the chords are derived from the same harmonic structure - a combination of minor second and minor third.

Free atonal and modal techniques were utilized in the work.

The first performer of the work was Russian accordionist Iosif Purits.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2000 by Alexander Shchetynsky