Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

An Episode in the Life of the Poet
Phantasy based on the opera Interrupted Letter
for violin and piano

The Phantasy is based on my opera Interrupted Letter, the main character of which is the Ukrainian poet and painter Taras Shevchenko. Late 1840s, Shevchenko serves his exile in a remote Russian province for participation in a secret political association. The Tsar strictly prohibited him to write and paint. Nevertheless, hiding from being seen, the poet creates new poems full of the reminiscences of Ukraine, its dramatic history and miserable status of the Ukrainian people. The reality of soldier's drill interrupts the poet's dreaming.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2014 by Alexander Shchetynsky