Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

for mixed choir a cappella (2006/11)

Text: the Bible

The two movement choral work  intended for concert performance.



Beati pauperes spiritu: quoniam ipsorum est regnum caelorum.
Beati mites: quoniam ipsi possidebunt terram.
Beati qui lugent: quoniam ipsi consolabuntur.
Beati qui esuriunt et sitiunt iustitiam: quoniam ipsi saturabuntur.
Beati misericordes: quia ipsi misericordiam consequentur.
Beati mundo corde: quoniam ipsi Deum videbunt.
Beati pacifici: quoniam filii Dei vocabuntur.
Beati qui persecutionem patiuntur propter iustitiam: quoniam ipsorum est regnum caelorum.
Beati estis cum maledixerint vobis, et persecuti vos fuerint, et dixerint omne malum adversum vos mentientes, propter me.
Gaudete, et exultate, quoniam merces vestra copiosa est in caelis. Sic enim persecuti sunt prophetas qui fuerunt ante vos.

Mat.5.3-12 (text according to Vulgata)


Pater noster, qui es in caelis:
Sanctificetur nomen tuum;
Adveniat regnum tuum;
Fiat voluntas tua, sicut in caelo, et in terra.
Panem nostrum cotidianum da nobis hodie;
Et dimitte nobis debita nostra,
Sicut et nos dimittimus debitoribus nostris;
Et ne nos inducas in tentationem;
Sed libera nos a malo.

Mat. 6:913 (text according to Antiphonale Monasticum pro diurnis horis)

English translation of the text:

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.
Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.
Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.
Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.
Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness' sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.
Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.

Our Father which art in heaven,
Hallowed be thy name.
Thy kingdom come.
Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth.
Give us day by day our daily bread.
And forgive us our sins;
for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil.

(The holy Bible, King James version)

List of works


2011 by Alexander Shchetynsky