Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

for vibraphone solo

The work is dedicated to the memory of my teacher in composition Valentyn Borysov. I have utilized four "musical" letters of his name (BorySov vAlEntyn) which were consequently transposed and became the basis of the full 12-tone series. This series determines both the order of the tones and the selection of the transpositions, hence the piece is written in strict dodecaphony technique.

Apart from the twelve-tone ground, there is a special acoustic idea in the piece, exactly a long concentrated listening to separate tones and intervals. This meditation leads to comprehension of the beauty and the self-value of the sound as an acoustic phenomenon. 

The piece was premiered by Moscow percussionist Mark Pekarsky at the festival Almeida, London, in June 1989.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2000 by Alexander Shchetynsky