Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

Chamber Symphony
for 13 instrumentalists

Moderato con moto

The piece may be regarded as a music drama with a certain sequence of 'events', those full of dramatic tension alternating with the others that are meditative and relatively stable. There is no literary programme, however, the work's substance being built from purely musical material and its transformations and interactions. The musical language is based mostly on free atonality with some modal elements. The musical material goes beyond the 12 notes of the chromatic scale, incorporating also quarter-tone alterations. The piece has no features of traditional symphonic form. Here and there, however, one can detect references to romantic and post-romantic examples of the genre. Some traces appear of well-known archetypes, the familiar shapes but somewhat distorted and taken out of their natural context. The elements of texture are sometimes superimposed on one another and therefore cover one another, as in cubist painting. Long melodic lines in subjectively concentrated first movement and the quasi-folk motives of more extrovert second movement are subjected to intensive variational development, variation technique being the main principle of the organization of the musical form.

The Symphony was premiered by the Polish-German Youth Ensemble conducted by Rüdiger Bohn at the festival Warsaw Autumn in 2006.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


© 2006 by Alexander Shchetynsky