Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

Chamber Concerto
for piano and 12 instrumentalists

Chamber Concerto consists of two movements (Moderato and Lento). They both are based on similar melodic and harmonic structures, and each of the movements presents a sequence of episodes of dramatic tension and relative stability and meditation. Due to this, the second movement in fact is a continuation of the first, and taken together, they form an integral composition. The principles of musical language of the piece are derived mostly from free atonality. Technically demanding piano part sometimes resembles the remains and flotsam of classical virtuoso pieces distorted with dissonant intervallic structures. Along with the piano, several instruments by turn play the role of the second soloist, so, in addition to traditional contest between the soloist and the ensemble, there happen also competitions of several soloists.

The piece may be perceived as a musical drama with tense dialogues of the "actors" and a certain sequence of "events", although there is no literary program here.

The work has received the Second prize at the International Composition Prize Luxembourg 2006 and was premiered by Annie Kraus and the Luxembourg Sinfonietta in 2006.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2006 by Alexander Shchetynsky