Back to list of works

Alexander Shchetynsky

for cello solo

Sonata consists of three movements:

1. Expressive recitation. Flexible melodic line has been built of short phrases, each of them contains the new type of expression, and the general layout is formed as a mosaic kaleidoscope of different emotional moods. Lamentation, indifference, fluctuation, enthusiasm, grotesque, irritation, shimmering, prostration are just some of the sound images, all of them being shaped just with brief hint, echo, fluent silhouette, broken fragment... Diversity of the colours gets equal to unification of thematisism: all the elements of the texture are united with common micro-motives.

2. Perpetuum mobile. Unlike the first movement, the second is filled with mechanical ostinato motion; the swift running of sixteenths is occasionally interrupted with short rests. In its general character, this movement resembles gloomy muted scherzo.

3. Finale combines the features of the previous movements and presents new transformation of them. In the beginning and during quite long period there are only pizzicato sounds, which add some chimerical colour to the expressive melodic line. Gradually soft harmonics are added to the plucked tones, then rapid passages and recitative fragments appear. Gradual development leads to extended and emotionally tense climax. The last section brings release and lucidity, the melody breaks into separated sound points in the highest registry.

Sonata was premiered by Alexander Zagorinsky on September 20, 2006 in Moscow.

Alexander Shchetynsky

List of works


2003 by Alexander Shchetynsky